Engineering Change

Amara Rozgus, Editor in Chief, Consulting-Specifying Engineer, CFE Media Amara Rozgus is chief editor and content manager of Consulting-Specifier Engineer magazine. She is an independent, award-winning professional with a strong technical background who excels at communication and deadline-driven project management.

Contact Amara with comments and ideas at .

Follow Amara on Twitter: @AmaraRozgus

Driven to win

Each year’s group of 40 Under 40 award winners stands above its peers professionally and personally. Do you know someone like this? Nominate them today.


Thomas EarpDriven. Exceptional. Dedicated. Innovative. Leaders. These words describe the 40 Under 40 winners from 2015, each of whom was recognized at an awards event in Chicago earlier this year. During the nomination process, the person completing the nomination form was asked to describe the candidate in one word, and the descriptive words—like the ones above—are always inspiring.

Gary HamiltonThe time has come to nominate an invaluable, smart, accomplished young professional to the 2016 40 Under 40 awards program. Nominations are being accepted at, and are due Jan. 29, 2016. Supporting materials are due Feb. 12, 2016. The entire nomination process is online for the first time this year.

Monte EngelkemierThe 40 Under 40 award winners are an inspiration to the building and engineering community. These excellent, accomplished, and analytical candidates are the future of the industry; and, as the more seasoned veterans move on, they will become the leaders at engineering firms, owners of avant-garde businesses, and mentors to the next generation. Each year, the judges select the leaders of tomorrow.

Benjamin Skelton (left) and Richard HopkinsSelecting these cutting-edge individuals is one of the most difficult and fulfilling tasks for the Consulting-Specifying Engineer team. Based on the supporting materials, the judges dive into each nominee’s background, and the final decision often becomes a heated conversation—and often a series of disappointments when we cannot select more than 40 winners.

Calina FerraroEach winner is breaking new ground in many ways: international awards, promotions at a young age, and giving back to the community—especially the building and engineering communities—propel each winner to the top of the heap.

Do the above descriptions sound like a compassionate, brilliant, awesome person you know? The 2016 40 Under 40 competition is open to engineering and building professionals from around the world who are 40 years old or younger as of May 1, 2016. Nominate your winner today. 

Watch this brief video to learn more about the 40 Under 40 awards program.

Watch the general presentation from the September 2015 40 Under 40 event.

View the awards ceremony from the September 2015 40 Under 40 awards program.

>> Return to the Engineering Change blog listings.

click me