Industry Roundup: Stanley Lands NASA Contract; Schneider Rewarded for Facilitating Automation Growth

By Consulting Specifying Engineer Staff August 12, 2005

Stanley Security Solutions, Inc. , Indianapolis, was recently awarded a two-year contract from NASA to provide a suite of access control and security systems throughout the agency’s various U.S. facilities. The $4.8 million contract is classified as indefinite delivery, indefinite quantity and contains an option to extend the agreement beyond the initial two-year period.

Frost & Sullivan announced Schneider Electric as the recipient of the 2005 Growth Strategy Leadership of the Year Award for its development of a strategy to facilitate growth in the building automation & controls market. This strategy—expansion into contiguous industries with a new level of creativity—led to Schneider’s acquisition of TAC , a manufacturer in the global building automation & controls market, in 2003, and the acquisition of Andover Controls , a participant in the building automation and security business, in 2004.

Modine Manufacturing Company announced that one of its longtime employees, Norm Mattson , received GAMA’s (Gas Appliance Manufacturers Association) 2005 Technical Service Award. Mattson, engineering manager of Modine’s CHVAC&R division, was chosen by his peers from 250 member corporations to receive the annual award.

Two Graunau Company employees recently passed the LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certification exam, making the Oak Creek-based company the first mechanical contractor in Wisconsin to have LEED Accredited Professionals on staff. Sarah Meyer and Jessica Rauch , both design engineers, passed the LEED examination, obtaining their accreditation in the LEED-NC category.

Field Controls has been named the National Assn. of Oil Heating Service Managers (NAOHSM) Manufacturer of the Year for 2005. Citing longtime recognition as an innovative leader in the industry and a consistent commitment to contractor training, education and support, awards chairman Bruce Marshall made the announcement in Hershey, Pa. at the NAOHSM Annual Meeting.