December 14, 2022 11AM PT | 1PM CT | 2PM ET

Why does line-side arc flash isolation matter?

Learn how arc flash isolation on the line side can make a difference when designing electrical systems

ATTENDEES QUALIFY FOR A CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION.

Arc flash and similar events are a possible cause of fire, personnel injury and damage to electrical equipment. Arc flash incidents can occur for many reasons, such as foreign objects such as tools and hands reaching into live areas, degradation of insulating materials and connections over time, dust buildup, abrupt energy spikes and loose electrical connections. As an electrical engineer designing electrical distribution systems, you can mitigate these risks through appropriate design practices.

Since the dawn of domesticated electricity, arc flashes have been a serious, yet preventable safety risk. Although the risk remains, safety standards surrounding arc flash such as Occupational Health and Safety Administration, NFPA 70E: Standard for Electrical Safety in the Workplace and other arc flash prevention technologies have evolved dramatically.

In this session, we’ll explore one such advance in these technologies: Arc flash isolation on the line side.


Learning objectives:

  • Understand how arc energy is measured and defined.
  • Discover arc flash hazard mitigations and measurements in addition to IEEE 1584, and personal protective equipment categories.
  • Reveal how a passive solution not only increases uptime and improves safety for workers and equipment, and can also reduce personal protective equipment requirements.
  • Review a line-side arc flash isolation technology.

Presented By:
Kyle Kocarek, Product Manager, Power Systems, Schneider Electric

Moderated By:
Amara Rozgus, Content Manager, CFE Media and Technology

Meet Our Sponsors