August 27, 2024 11AM PT | 1PM CT | 2PM ET

Lighting systems in existing buildings: What’s the best way to design them?

1 AIA CES APPROVED LU AVAILABLE FOR ATTENDEES UPON SUCCESSFUL COMPLETION OF AN EXAM.

Understanding codes, controls and commissioning are key to an effective lighting design for an existing building retrofit.

The foundation of a good lighting redesign is establishing an appropriate energy code compliance path early in design. Two energy codes, the International Energy Conservation Code and ASHRAE 90.1: Energy Standard for Buildings Except Low-Rise Residential Buildings, should be compared and reviewed against the project requirements.


Learning objectives:

  • Establish project-specific codes and standards parameters for compliance with regulations adopted by the jurisdiction.
  • Select lighting control strategies in compliance with code and the owner’s project requirements, with coordination with the architectural programming of the spaces.
  • Know how to write the specification to get the achieved design.
  • Understand which lighting type is correct for each retrofit application. Review design examples.

Presented By:
Michael Chow, PE, CEM, CxA, LEED AP BD+C, Principal, Metro CD Engineering LLC
Paul Daniel, LC, LEED AP, Deputy Lighting Section Manager – Philadelphia, Senior Professional Associate, HDR

Moderated By:
Amara Rozgus, Content Manager, WTWH Media