February 27, 2020 11AM PT | 1PM CT | 2PM ET

How to specify backup, standby and emergency power in mission critical facilities

1 AIA CES approved LU available for attendees upon successful completion of an exam

When designing backup, standby and emergency power systems for mission critical facilities, there are several considerations beyond NFPA 70: National Electrical Code and other building code requirements that must be addressed. Electrical engineers must understand the specific owner project requirements for the building’s power systems and ensure that the generator specification and system topologies meet all those requirements for cost, construction schedule, component performance and system maintainability.


Learning objectives:

  • Know the codes and standards that define the design of emergency, standby and backup power systems.
  • dentify important qualities and characteristics of generators for mission critical facilities beyond the standard National Electrical Code and building standards.
  • Learn best practices for specifying power systems, and identify commonly seen specification errors or omissions.
  • Review and compare various design topologies and solutions often seen implemented for mission critical facilities. Discuss why certain solutions may be more or less favorable for certain owners and operators.

Presented By:
Bart Hogge, PE, ATD, LEED AP, Principal and Mission Critical Market Leader, Affiliated Engineers Inc.
Danna Jensen, PE, LEED AP BD+C, Principal, Certus Consulting Engineers

Moderated By:
Amara Rozgus, Content Manager, CFE Media & Technology

#CSEPowerInMCF

Meet Our Sponsors