December 15, 2022 11AM PT | 1PM CT | 2PM ET

Fire and life safety: Notification systems

1 AIA CES APPROVED LU/HSW AVAILABLE FOR ATTENDEES UPON SUCCESSFUL COMPLETION OF AN EXAM.

NFPA 72: National Fire Alarm and Signaling Code provides design and installation provisions for fire signaling, emergency communication and mass notification systems. These systems are used not only to notify occupants of fire emergencies, but also cover emergencies such as weather events, terrorist events and other threats.

As the functions and goals of fire alarm notification systems expand, the system layout must be effectively designed to provide a variety of vital signals.

The buildings and areas within them that require fire alarm notification coverage are determined by the governing building codes or standards. The components of the notification system are required to conform to NFPA 72. Full coverage notification is achieved when the required areas receive coverage for all required notification methods.


Learning objectives:

  • Explain the minimum building codes that govern notification systems, such as the International Building Code (IBC) and NFPA 72: National Fire Alarm and Signaling Code.
  • Apply the correct mass notification systems (MNS) to alert the occupants and first responders (including MNS and emergency communication systems).
  • Determine how application, installation, location, performance, inspection, testing and maintenance of notification systems will be handled.
  • Examine fire alarm notification objectives, along with occupant behavior patterns in emergencies, to determine the best design for achieving system goals.

Presented By:
Raymond A. Grill, PE, FSFPE, LEED AP, Principal, Ray Grill Consulting PLLC, Clifton, Va.
Andrew Woodward, PE, Associate | Fire Protection Engineer, Arup, Boston

Moderated By:
Amara Rozgus, Content Manager, CFE Media and Technology