October 30, 2019 11AM PT | 1PM CT | 2PM ET

Fire and life safety: Notification and communications systems

1 AIA CES approved LU available for attendees upon successful completion of an exam

Fire/life safety notification and communications systems are specified for the safety of the building’s occupants in the event of a fire or other disaster. Fire and life safety systems need to be specified, installed, commissioned and maintained, depending on each building type and location. Codes and standards, including the International Fire Code and various NFPA standards, provide design and installation provisions for fire notification and communications systems in the event of a fire or other emergency event.
Emergency communications systems and mass notification systems are critical to any building in order to notify occupants of an emergency and for overall life safety. Fire, smoke, heat, linear and intelligent detection systems are required at varying levels in nonresidential buildings and aid in the notification process. Depending on the building type, different features are necessary to comply with codes and standards.


Learning objectives:

  • Know the codes and standards that address notification and communications systems and the new requirements requiring risk analyses in many buildings.
  • Explore the challenges and solutions of designing notification and communications systems.
  • Apply fire/life safety notification and communications systems requirements to meet the objectives of the building’s fire and life safety system.
  • Review what needs to be on the plans submittal for approval by the authority having jurisdiction (AHJ).

Presented By:
William Koffel, PE, FSFPE, President, Koffel Associates
Raymond A. Grill, PE, FSFPE, Principal, Arup

Moderated By:
Amara Rozgus, Content Manager, CFE Media and Technology

#CSEFireNotification

Meet Our Sponsors