Get the latest updates on the Coronavirus impact on engineers.Click Here
August 25, 2020 11AM PT | 1PM CT | 2PM ET

Designing system-level controls in a power system

Electrical engineers specifying paralleling power systems must understand the difference between generator set paralleling and system-level control

Attendees qualify for a Certificate of Completion.

Since paralleling generator sets has changed drastically from the discrete components and operator-based systems in the early 1970s to today’s autonomous microprocessor-based technology, the control boundaries between the system-level control and generator set paralleling control has also changed.

This webcast goes beyond paralleling generator sets and dives into the system-level design. It discusses the role and value of controls at a system level in a power system. Different failures modes that must be considered are discussed to ensure a safe and reliable power system operation.


Learning objectives:

  • Recognize the common building blocks of a backup power system and its functionalities.
  • Discuss the functionalities of a system-level control and how it fits in a power system.
  • Describe common failure mode scenarios that must be considered when specifying a system-level control for a safe and reliable operation.
  • Explain the different use case scenarios for system-level control to better understand the value it brings to a power system.

Presented By:
Hassan Obeid, Global Technical Advisor for Systems and Controls – Critical Protection, Cummins Power Generation

Moderated By:
Amara Rozgus, Content Manager, CFE Media & Technology

#Cummins

Meet Our Sponsors