Get the latest updates on the Coronavirus impact on engineers.Click Here
September 1, 2020 11AM PT | 1PM CT | 2PM ET

Critical power: Emergency, standby, and backup generators (Part 3)

1 AIA CES approved LU available for attendees upon successful completion of an exam and payment of $25 processing fee

When designing generator systems, electrical engineers must ensure that generators and the building electrical systems that they support are appropriate for the specific application. Whether providing standby power for health care facilities or prime power for processing plants, engineers must make decisions regarding generator sizing, load types, whether generators should be paralleled, fuel storage, switching scenarios, and many other criteria.


Learning objectives:

  • Know the codes and standards for emergency, standby, and backup power loads.
  • Learn best practices for specifying generators, touching on dependability, cost savings, efficiency, synchronization, and other aspects.
  • Analyze and compare the differences and similarities among emergency, standby, and backup power systems.
  • Explain parallel power-generation systems.

Presented By:
Kenneth Kutsmeda, PE, LEED AP, Engineering Manager, Jacobs
Danna Jensen, Principal, PE, LEED AP BD+C, Certus

Moderated By:
Amara Rozgus, Content Manager, CFE Media & Technology

#CSEemergency