March 7, 2019 11AM PT | 1PM CT | 2PM ET

Critical power: Combined heat and power systems

Cogeneration systems, often referred to as combined heat and power (CHP) systems, generate both electricity and thermal energy. As they become more common in the United States, engineers must understand the nuances and design strategies for successful application.


Learning objectives:

  • Explain combined heat and power (CHP) and how it can be applied in commercial buildings.
  • Develop a strategy for applying CHP equipment in the built environment.
  • Evaluate and calculate the energy efficiency of the CHP system.
  • Know the codes, standards, and guidelines that define the design of CHP systems.

Moderated By:
Jack Smith, Content Manager, CFE Media