July 30, 2024 11AM PT | 1PM CT | 2PM ET

Critical power: Circuit protection recipes for electrical design success

1 AIA CES APPROVED LU AVAILABLE FOR ATTENDEES UPON SUCCESSFUL COMPLETION OF AN EXAM.

The electrical engineer is responsible for designing power distribution systems for commercial buildings. Understanding the full circuit protection requirements will enable the engineer to design the safest and most reliable electrical distribution systems, whether the system includes fuses, circuit breakers or both.

The electrical engineer carries a large responsibility to the public when designing power distribution systems for buildings. The design must protect against faults and overloads while also providing adequate personnel protection and minimizing disruption.

Unfortunately, there is not a clear, concise “recipe” to follow for such designs. Rather, it requires constant study of the ever-changing codes and standards that can be interpreted in various ways, and then properly applying them into an actionable design.


Learning objectives:

  • Understand the different types of overcurrent protective device strategies to apply in building electrical systems.
  • Recognize the different types of systems, and when they are best specified.
  • Review how to protect against the various types of faults.
  • Learn best practices for design via case studies and project examples.

Presented By:
Kenneth Kutsmeda, PE, LEED AP, Global Technology Leader – Mission Critical, Jacobs, Philadelphia
Ian Smith, PE, Electrical Engineer, CDM Smith, Arlington, Virginia

Moderated By:
Amara Rozgus, Content Manager, WTWH Media

Meet Our Sponsors