Data Centers and the Smart Grid

Thursday, February 3, 2011 at 2 p.m. EST/1 p.m. CST/11 a.m. PST

The emergence of the smart grid will have three substantial impacts on data centers. One will be the need for more data centers to support the massive amounts of information and data processing that the smart grid will engender for utilities, energy service providers, and marketers. The second will be how data centers themselves interact with the smart grid as loads responding to grid conditions, microgrids, and demand-response programs without compromising mission-critical cooling and operations. The third will be a boost in efforts and incentives to increase the energy efficiency of data center facilities and equipment.

This Webcast will provide an overview of the smart grid's anticipated information architecture and how data centers could interact with the smart grid through automated demand response, microgrids, and virtual power plants. Also covered will be an update on public/private efforts to improve the energy efficiency of data centers.


Speakers:

  • David Olson, PE., Managing Director, P&E Automation, Inc.
  • Bill Kosik, PE, CEM, LEED AP, BEMP, Principal Data Center Energy Technologist, HP Enterprise Business, Technology Services
  • Paul E. Schlattman, Vice President, Mission Critical Facilities, Environmental Systems Design, Inc.

This Webcast is free and one (1) AIA learning unit (0.1 CEU) (or 1 PDH) will be provided upon successful completion of an exam following the Webcast.


You must get 8 of 10 questions correct to pass the exam. You may retake the exam if necessary. You will be notified whether you passed or failed automatically after taking the exam. Upon passing the exam, a hardcopy certificate will be mailed within 30 days to you at the address you provide below.


click me