Curbing VFD Harmonics in HVAC Applications

Friday, December 14, 2018, at 11 a.m. PT/1 p.m. CT/2 p.m. ET
Attendees qualify for a Certificate of Completion
#HarmonicMitigation, #MatrixDrives

Click here to register.

How and why are variable frequency drives (VFDs) used in HVAC applications and building automation systems? And what are the best practices to mitigate the effects of VFD harmonics on system performance?

Join us for our free educational webcast presented by Larry Gardner, an HVAC Drive product manager and specialist in the tracking of engineering development programs, as we explore HVAC applications for VFDs, VFD design differences and performance factors, harmonic mitigation methods, and the basics of IEEE 519.  

We’ll kick off this training webinar by discussing the typical HVAC VFD applications, HVAC matrix ratings and certifications, and the reasons to use VFDs (e.g. energy efficiency, mechanical life, connectivity, controls, harmonics mitigation, etc.). Then, to better understand harmonics generated from non-linear loads, their effects on system performance, and what to do about them, we’ll describe some alternative VFD designs and different VFD performance factors, including power factor, motor bearing currents and control, harmonics, etc. With that under our belts, we’ll walk through what can be done to keep harmonics at acceptable levels and why, IEEE 519-2014 vs. IEEE 519-1992 compliance, and harmonic control best practices to minimize costs and energy use.

Learning Objectives:

Presenter: Larry Gardner, Product Manager, HVAC Drive Products, Yaskawa America, Inc.

Moderator: Amara Rozgus, Editor in Chief/Content Strategy Leader, Consulting-Specifying Engineer, CFE Media

Sponsor: Yaskawa America, Inc.

click me