Generator Set Sizing & Specification

Thursday, April 12, 2018, at 11 a.m. PT/1 p.m. CT/2 p.m. ET
Attendees qualify for a Certificate of Completion
#MTUpower

Click here to register.

This presentation is designed to educate consulting specifying engineers regarding the various factors that influence the sizing and selection of a generator set, and how familiarity with these factors can contribute to more economical and reliable facility designs. The presenter will discuss NEMA MG-1 standards for generators used in standby, prime and continuous power applications. The speaker will consider assumptions that sizing programs from the manufacturer use as default values—such as starting and running power factor, motor starter types, motor code, etc.—and their implications in terms of generator sizing. 

During this webcast, the presenter will compare various starting methods including across the line start and soft start solutions. Load sequencing, also known as load steps, will be investigated and discussed. Intermittent loads, such as air conditioners and compressors, will be reviewed and considered, including the implications when specifying generator sets.

Learning objectives:

Presenter: Nicholas Paolo, PE, Business Development Manager, MTU Onsite Energy

Moderator: Jack Smith, Consulting-Specifying Engineer, and CFE Media, LLC

Sponsor: MTU Onsite Energy

click me