NFPA Gives Awards at World Safety Conference

Each year the National Fire Protection Assn.’s (NFPA) Standards Council recognizes individuals for outstanding service to the organization in the development of codes and standards. Awards were presented to 35 individuals at the World Safety Conference & Exposition, which took place in Boston June 3 to June 7.


Each year the National Fire Protection Assn.’s (NFPA) Standards Council recognizes individuals for outstanding service to the organization in the development of codes and standards. Awards were presented to 35 individuals at the World Safety Conference & Exposition, which took place in Boston June 3 to June 7.

2007 Winners for Special Achievement

• Donald P. Bliss, National Infrastructure Institute, Portsmouth, N.H.

Lloyd W. Bokman, Ohio Emergency Management Agency, Gahanna, Ohio

Jim A. Crawford, Vancouver Fire Dept., Vancouver, Wash.

Dr. James A. Milke, University of Maryland, College Park, Md.

Robert T. Wickham, Wickham Assocs., Stratham, N.H.

2007 Winners for Committee Service

Douglas M. Aiken, Lakes Region Mutual Fire Aid, Laconia, N.H.

James F. Barth, Huntington, Vt.

Delwyn D. Bluhm, Institute for Physical Research & Technology

Ames, Iowa

Stephen E. Bush, Winchester, Va.

Andre R. Cartal, Yardley, Pa.

Donald Cook, Shelby County Development Services, Pelham, Ala.

James T. Dollard, Jr., IBEW Local Union 98, Philadelphia

Mitchell Guthrie, Blanch, N.C.

Wayne D. Holmes, HSB Professional Loss Control, Hartford, Conn.

Bruce A. Hopkins, Recreation Vehicle Industry Assn., Reston, Va.

Jon C. Jones, Jon Jones & Assocs., Lunenburg, Mass.

Stephen G. Leeds, Livermore, Calif.

Thomas J. Lett, Albuquerque Fire & Safety Assocs., Rio Rancho, N.M.

L. Bruce McClung, Electrical Safety Consulting Services, Charleston, W.V.

Danny L. McDaniel, Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, Williamsburg, Va.

Navin D. Mehta, U.S. Dept. of Defense, Fort Belvoir, Va.

John D. Minick, National Electrical Manufacturers Assn., Grand Prairie, Texas

James M. Naughton, IBEW Local Union 103, Norwood, Mass.

• R ichard P. Owen, City of St. Paul, Minn.

Phani K. Raj, Technology & Management Systems, Burlington, Mass.

Ray F. Reed, Dallas Fire-Rescue, Dallas

Gary S. Santoro, Town of Wethersfield, Conn.

George H. St. Onge, Bernardsville, N.J.

Harry Schildkraut, Schildkraut, Schroeder, Sedej & Assocs., Hawthorn Woods, Ill.

Jeffrey O. Stull, International Personnel Protection, Austin, Texas

Richard B. Swartz, JP Morgan Chase & Co., New York

Ralph E. Transue, The RJA Group, Chicago,

Harry Verakis , U.S. Dept. of Labor, Triadelphia, W.V.
Klaus Wahle , U.S. Coast Guard, Washington, D.C.

James T. Wooters, Mizelle, Hodges and Assocs., Atlanta

Achievements in Fire and Life Safety

• J ennifer L. Nelson, recipient of NFPA’s Standards Medal. Nelson is honored for the valuable contributions she has made to the development of NFPA codes and standards and the cause of fire safety worldwide. She was affiliated with AT&T for 20 years, before taking an early retirement in 2005. Nelson served on NFPA’s Committee on General Storage from 1987 %%MDASSML%% 2003, the Committee on Classification and Properties of Hazardous Chemical Data from 1987 %%MDASSML%% 2005, the Committee on Water Cooling Towers from 1987 %%MDASSML%% 2005; and was secretary of this Committee from 1991 %%MDASSML%% 2005. She also served on the Committee on Telecommunications from 1997 %%MDASSML%% 2005, the Committee on Uniform Fire Code from 2003 %%MDASSML%% 2005, and served as a member of the NFPA Standards Council from 1991 %%MDASSML%% 1997. Nelson is a graduate of the College of Engineering at the University of Maryland.

Michelin North America, recipient of the Industrial Fire Protection Section Fire Prevention Week Contest: Michelin North America’s winning Fire Prevention Week program promoted the importance of safe cooking to coincide with the 2006 Fire Prevention Week theme, Prevent Cooking Fires: Watch What You Heat! Employees received materials on safe cooking throughout the week and the company partnered with local fire departments to educate children on good fire prevention and safety practices. They also provided hands-on training to over 1500 employees on the proper operation of fire extinguishers.

Co-authors Michael Klassen, Jason Sutula, Maclain Holton, Richard Roby and Thomas Izbicki, recipients of the 2007 Harry C. Bigglestone Award for Excellence in Communication of Fire Protection Concepts : The Harry C. Bigglestone Award for best paper from Fire Technology in 2006 was “Transmission Through and Breakage of Multi-Pane Glazing Due to Radiant Exposure.” Awardees are selected by the international editorial board of “Fire Technology.” Recipients of the 2006 award are the five co-authors of the paper: Michael Klassen, Jason Sutula, Maclain Holton and Richard Roby of Combustion Science & Engineering and Thomas Izbicki of Rolf Jensen & Assocs.

No comments
Consulting-Specifying Engineer's Product of the Year (POY) contest is the premier award for new products in the HVAC, fire, electrical, and...
Consulting-Specifying Engineer magazine is dedicated to encouraging and recognizing the most talented young individuals...
The MEP Giants program lists the top mechanical, electrical, plumbing, and fire protection engineering firms in the United States.
BIM coordination; MEP projects; NFPA 13; Data center Q&A; Networked lighting controls; 2017 Product of the Year finalists
Emergency lighting; NFPA 3 and 4; Integrated building systems; Smart lighting, HVAC design
Designing for energy efficiency; Understanding and applying NFPA 101 for mission critical facilities; Integrating commissioning and testing for fire alarm systems; Optimizing unitary pumping solutions
Tying a microgrid to the smart grid; Paralleling generator systems; Previewing NEC 2017 changes
Driving motor efficiency; Preventing Arc Flash in mission critical facilities; Integrating alternative power and existing electrical systems
Putting COPS into context; Designing medium-voltage electrical systems; Planning and designing resilient, efficient data centers; The nine steps of designing generator fuel systems
As brand protection manager for Eaton’s Electrical Sector, Tom Grace oversees counterfeit awareness...
Amara Rozgus is chief editor and content manager of Consulting-Specifier Engineer magazine.
IEEE power industry experts bring their combined experience in the electrical power industry...
Michael Heinsdorf, P.E., LEED AP, CDT is an Engineering Specification Writer at ARCOM MasterSpec.
Automation Engineer; Wood Group
System Integrator; Cross Integrated Systems Group
Fire & Life Safety Engineer; Technip USA Inc.
click me