International Code Council Looking for Award Nominations


The International Code Council (ICC), headquartered in Falls Church, Va., is accepting nominations for its 2005 awards. Awards will be presented in several categories to honor individuals and organizations for accomplishments in the building-safety and fire-protection industries, and for service to the ICC.

Awards include the following:

The Bobby J. Fowler Award is given in honor of the first chairman of the International Code Council Board of Directors, a driving force behind the consolidation of the model code industry. The award is presented to an individual whose contributions to the ICC’s goal to build a safer environment.

The ICC Code Official of the Year Award is given to an individual whose contribution to the code enforcement profession is meritorious and worthy of recognition. Nominees should be an example for all members of the code enforcement profession by furthering the cause of safety in the built environment.

The ICC Affiliate Award is presented to a member of the building industry who consistently demonstrates the qualities of integrity, professionalism and dedication. This award also recognizes an individual’s spirit of public service related to the development of codes and standards in the interest of public safety.

The ICC Community Service Award acknowledges outstanding service by an individual, organization, jurisdiction or community group that promotes public health, safety and welfare by initiating activities or actions considered to be above and beyond normal expectations.

The ICC Fire Service Award is given to an International Code Council member for exemplary service, professional abilities and leadership and support in the development of International Code Council fire codes. This award also recognizes fire prevention and protection professionals who serve as an example to others in their field.

Nominations forms and additional details on award categories are available on the ICC website at and must be submitted by July 22.

Completed forms can be mailed to ICC Award Nominations, Attn: Karla Higgs, Birmingham District Office, 900 Montclair Road, Birmingham, Ala., 35213. Awards will be presented during the International Code Council Annual Conference in Detroit on Sept. 26, 2005.

No comments
Consulting-Specifying Engineer's Product of the Year (POY) contest is the premier award for new products in the HVAC, fire, electrical, and...
Consulting-Specifying Engineer magazine is dedicated to encouraging and recognizing the most talented young individuals...
The MEP Giants program lists the top mechanical, electrical, plumbing, and fire protection engineering firms in the United States.
BIM coordination; MEP projects; NFPA 13; Data center Q&A; Networked lighting controls; 2017 Product of the Year finalists
Emergency lighting; NFPA 3 and 4; Integrated building systems; Smart lighting, HVAC design
Designing for energy efficiency; Understanding and applying NFPA 101 for mission critical facilities; Integrating commissioning and testing for fire alarm systems; Optimizing unitary pumping solutions
Tying a microgrid to the smart grid; Paralleling generator systems; Previewing NEC 2017 changes
Driving motor efficiency; Preventing Arc Flash in mission critical facilities; Integrating alternative power and existing electrical systems
Putting COPS into context; Designing medium-voltage electrical systems; Planning and designing resilient, efficient data centers; The nine steps of designing generator fuel systems
As brand protection manager for Eaton’s Electrical Sector, Tom Grace oversees counterfeit awareness...
Amara Rozgus is chief editor and content manager of Consulting-Specifier Engineer magazine.
IEEE power industry experts bring their combined experience in the electrical power industry...
Michael Heinsdorf, P.E., LEED AP, CDT is an Engineering Specification Writer at ARCOM MasterSpec.
Automation Engineer; Wood Group
System Integrator; Cross Integrated Systems Group
Fire & Life Safety Engineer; Technip USA Inc.
click me