Consulting-Specifying Engineer Webcast
CSE Webcasts

Join Consulting-Specifying Engineer on Tuesday, September 15 for an educational webcast:

Open and Closed Systems - Net positive suction head: Why should engineers care?

Tuesday, September 15, 2015 at 11 a.m. PT /1 p.m. CT/2 p.m. ET
Attendees qualify for a Certificate of Completion

Cavitation and net positive suction head (NPSH) are two of the most vexing problems encountered when selecting and applying centrifugal pumps. This education session will focus on NPSH issues in commercial HVAC applications; the principles involved apply to applications in all market sectors and nonresidential building types. This webcast will take the mystery out of the topic. In plain, simple language—and with examples taken from both open- and closed-loop piping systems—the whole issue of NPSHa versus NPSHr will be clarified and reduced to a few basic principles and equations. By following these guidelines, engineers will be able to specify pumps with confidence that cavitation will not occur.

Learning Objectives:

  • Summarize net positive suction head required (NPSHr) and net positive suction head available (NPSHa).
  • Examine the consequences of inadequate NPSHa.
  • Perform the calculations for NPSHr versus NPSHa for both open- and closed-loop piping systems in commercial HVAC applications.
  • Explain cavitation and determine under which circumstances it will occur.
Jim Swetye Presenter: Jim Swetye, Technical Training Expert, Grundfos Pumps Corp., Ohio
Moderator: Jack Smith, Consulting-Specifying Engineer, and CFE Media LLC

Register Now!


Sponsored by:
Grundfos