Consulting-Specifying Engineer Webcast

How to Size a Pump Driver

Tuesday, April 12, at 11 a.m. PT/1 p.m. CT/2 p.m. ET
Attendees qualify for a Certificate of Completion

Click here to register.

Proper sizing of the horsepower rating of an electric motor or other driver is absolutely critical to the proper functioning of a pumping system. In this webinar you will learn all of the fundamentals that enable you to confidently specify the size of a driver for a centrifugal pump. We will learn how the horsepower load on the motor is calculated, how use of Duty Point and Maximum point influence the sizing of the motor, and how to make sound decisions on the use of power margin, service factor, and power reserve.

Participants will learn and/or understand:

  • Calculate loads based on the Brake Horsepower formula
  • Define two choices for the "Motor sizing specification"
  • Select a motor size based on the Duty Point and Maximum Point loads based on the pump curve
  • Select a motor based on adding a "Margin over specification"
  • Select a motor based on allowing or denying use of Service Factor
  • Identify "Power reserve" values for a selected motor size.
Kevin Anderson Presenter: Kevin Anderson, Senior Technical Training Specialist, Grundfos Pumps Corp., Olathe, Kan.
Moderator: Jack Smith, Consulting-Specifying Engineer, CFE Media

Register Now!

 

Sponsored by:

Grundfos

 

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -