Critical power: Power generation systems in high-performance buildings

Thursday, September 21, 2017, at 11 a.m. PT/1 p.m. CT/2 p.m. ET
1 AIA CES approved LU available for attendees
#CSEpowergeneration

Click here to register. 

Electrical engineers must consider many factors when designing power generation systems. Safety, maintainability, code compliance, and economics play crucial roles in determining the topology of power generation systems for high-performance buildings. Specific requirements for emergency power vary based on building occupancy type, facility use, and function.

When designing power generation systems, engineers must ensure that the products and the building electrical systems that they support are appropriate for the specific application. They must make decisions regarding the type of power (alternative, traditional, or combined heat and power) system sizing, load types, whether generators should be paralleled, fuel and/or battery storage, switching scenarios, and many other criteria.

When working on high-performance buildings, designers must consider a building that integrates and optimizes all major high-performance building attributes, including energy efficiency, durability, lifecycle performance, and occupant productivity.

Learning objectives: 

Presenters:

Moderator: Jack Smith, Consulting-Specifying Engineer, Pure Power, and CFE Media, LLC

Sponsors: ASCO, Eaton, Generac

click me