Fire/life safety: Detection and notification systems

Thursday, August 27, 2015, at 11 a.m. PT /1 p.m. CT/2 p.m. ET
1 AIA CES approved; 1 LU|HSW (learning unit/health, safety, and welfare) available for attendees
#CSEFire

Click here to register.

Fire detection systems—including fire, smoke, heat, linear, and intelligent—are required at varying levels in nonresidential buildings. Based on the building type, the occupants, and codes and standards, fire protection engineers must know which products and systems will best support the owner’s needs and authority having jurisdiction’s (AHJ) requirements. 

Both active and passive fire protection systems are then specified to ensure the safety and well-being of building occupants in case of a fire. As in most industries, the safety of people comes first and property protection is secondary. Protecting the occupants of the building from the effects of fire is the primary objective in the majority of cases; engineers should also be conscious of emergency responders when designing systems. 

Notification appliances must be included in the design to ensure building occupants are notified and safely and efficiently evacuated (if necessary). Understanding which systems are most appropriate for a building is paramount to guaranteeing the safe evacuation of building occupants. 

Learning objectives:

Presenters:

Moderator: Amara Rozgus, Editor in Chief/Content Manager, Consulting-Specifying Engineer, CFE Media

Sponsors: Fike, Status Solutions

Join the discussion about this Webcast on Twitter at #CSEFire.  

click me