Energy efficiency: Variable frequency drives (VFDs), variable speed drives (VSDs), and motors

Thursday, June 11, 2015, at 11 a.m. PT/1 p.m. CT/2 p.m. ET
1 AIA CES approved LU available for attendees
#CSEmotorefficiency

Click here to register.

Engineers must understand how the components in the systems they design use power and how they can be optimized without compromising traditional design values. Standard induction motors use (and waste) electricity. Total motor energy usage for the industrial sector outstrips commercial usage by roughly 3:1. To reduce operational costs across all nonresidential buildings, variable frequency drives (VFDs) and variable speed drives (VSDs) are frequently used with ac induction motors that operate pumps, fans, compressors, or similar equipment with variable load profiles.

Although engineers have little control over the applicable efficiency standards and codes they are mandated to follow, they are still tasked with designing appropriately sized and functional systems. The adoption of more stringent energy codes and standards has put greater emphasis on energy efficiency in engineering designs. Efficiency requirements will only become more stringent. This webcast addresses the efficiency standards that apply to ac induction motors and the systems in which they operate, load issues, applications, and harmonic mitigation.

Learning objectives:

Moderator: Jack Smith, Consulting-Specifying Engineer, and CFE Media LLC 

Presenters:

Sponsors: AEGIS Bearing Protection Rings, Baldor Electric

 

click me