Electrical Systems: Arc Flash Reduction and NEC 240.87 Requirements

Wednesday, May 6, 2015, at 11 a.m. PT/1 p.m. CT/2 p.m. ET
Attendees qualify for a Certificate of Completion

Click here to register.

Join the discussion about this Webcast on Twitter at #CSEarcflashreduction

Arc flash hazards is a dangerous condition associated with the possible release of energy caused by an electric arc. These incidents can cause severe injury including burns, and each year impact the lives and safety of thousands of people. As awareness of arc flash hazards grows, electrical industry standards and regulations continue to evolve. 

Now that the 2014 edition of NFPA 70: National Electrical Code (NEC) has been published, this will take a look at what’s new in the requirement in Section 240.87: Arc Energy Reduction. This session will focus on the requirements and intent of the code change to ensure arc flash safety in the electrical industry.

Electrical engineers are required to design systems to meet NFPA 70E: Standard for Electrical Safety in the Workplace, and arc flash mitigation is frequently top-of-mind.

Learning Objectives:

Presenters:

Moderator: Jack Smith, Consulting-Specifying Engineer, Pure Power, and CFE Media LLC 

Sponsor: Schneider Electric

click me