Critical Power: Data center electrical efficiency

Thursday, May 14, 2015, at 11 a.m. PT/1 p.m. CT/2 p.m. ET
1 AIA CES approved LU available for attendees

Click here to register.

Join the discussion about this Webcast on Twitter at #CSEdatacenterefficiency

Designing efficient data centers is a high priority for consulting engineers. From business operations and continuity to the growing use of cloud services to the Internet of Things, increased Internet demand is putting a strain on server capacity and energy use. New cloud-based data centers can mean higher densities and high load factors as well as a higher demand for reliability, which increases the importance of electrical system loading to achieve optimum efficiency. Engineers must balance power usage effectiveness (PUE) and electrical efficiency with reliability when designing data center electrical systems.

Electrical engineers may consider electrical meters, automatic and static transfer switches, uninterruptible power supply (UPS) systems, and powering IT equipment directly from utility power when determining and managing the amount of power used at various locations throughout the data center. Commissioning of a sustainable data center that is designed for U.S. Green Building Council LEED certification requires additional documentation and performance benchmarks.

Learning objectives:

Presenters:

Moderator: Jack Smith, Consulting-Specifying Engineer, Pure Power, and CFE Media LLC 

Sponsors: ASCO, Eaton, Schneider Electric

click me