Critical Power: Standby power for mission critical facilities

Thursday, March 19, 2015, at 11 a.m. PT /1 p.m. CT/2 p.m. ET
1 AIA CES approved LU available for attendees
#CSEstandbypower

Click here to register.

When utility power is interrupted, standby power system failure is not an option for mission critical facilities. Mission critical facilities such as hospitals, data centers, and other highly critical buildings must remain operational—period. Vital mission critical power system characteristics include availability, reliability, security—and now efficiency.

Designing reliable and efficient standby power for mission critical facilities poses unique challenges, such as determining the size and quantity of standby generators; installation concerns such as elevation and heat de-rating; analyzing the types of loads and those load characteristics that may affect de-rating of generators; calculating the amount of on-site fuel and different types of fuels (i.e. natural gas or diesel); determining the required “ride-through” time to allow engines to start and assume the load; consideration of testing and ongoing maintenance; and anticipating a multitude of scenarios that can affect system performance.

Requirements of mission critical standby power systems transcend those of standard commercial projects, which are typically designed to merely comply with applicable building codes. High expectations of systems for mission critical facilities are driven by the necessity  for increased levels of reliability and efficiency due to the potential catastrophic business consequences in the event of system failure.

Learning Objectives:

Presenters:

Moderator: Jack Smith, Consulting-Specifying Engineer and Pure Power for CFE Media LLC

Sponsors: ASCO, Eaton, Generac Industrial Power, Russelectric

click me