HVAC: Alternative heating/cooling systems

Thursday, Feb. 26, 2015, at 11 a.m. PT /1 p.m. CT/2 p.m. ET
1 AIA CES approved LU available for attendees
#CSEHVACoptions

Click here to register.

Balancing year-round thermal comfort and energy efficiency in nonresidential buildings is an ongoing challenge for mechanical engineers. Emphasis on building performance and adoption of energy-efficient building codes are increasing. Demand for heating and cooling technologies, such as variable-air-volume (VAV) and water-cooled chillers, is giving way to high-performance, or “alternative” systems such as displacement ventilation, passive design, chilled beams, dedicated outdoor air systems, evaporative cooling, ground source heat pumps, and hydronic heating and cooling.

To add to the challenges, mechanical and plumbing engineers must consider the various types of technologies that have recently entered the marketplace. Various piping products and methods, insulation options, air movement, and controls also will be discussed.

Learning Objectives:

Presenters:

Moderator: Jack Smith, Consulting-Specifying Engineer and CFE Media, LLC

Sponsors: Aeroflex USA and Mitsubishi Electric Cooling & Heating

click me