Vertical Turbine Sump Design

Wednesday, October 21, 2015, at 11 a.m. PT/1 p.m. CT/2 p.m. ET
Attendees qualify for a Certificate of Completion

Click here to register.

This topic is important to plumbing engineers in order to optimize vertical turbine performance and increase overall efficiency. 

Pump inlet conditions are simultaneously one of the most underrated aspects of pumping station design and probably the greatest reason for pumping station success or failure. A pump's performance depends greatly on the quality of the pump intake. Recommendations in this presentation follow guidelines set forth by the Hydraulic Institute Standard 9.8 on Pump Intake Design. Many vertical turbine sump installations require a multiple pump intake structure, this is quite common for cooling tower applications. The pump intake design must provide reasonable velocity distribution at the pump inlet, reduce swirling, severely limit air entrainment, satisfy net positive suction head (NPSH) conditions, and afford enough submergence to avoid vertices. Having adequate pump inlet conditions will greatly reduce vibration and cavitation, pump system maintenance, and the loss of pump performance.

Learning objectives:

Presenter: Jimmy Scroggins, Senior Technical Trainer, Grundfos Pumps Corp., Ohio

Moderator: Jack Smith, Consulting-Specifying Engineer, CFE Media

Sponsored by: Grundfos

 

click me