Retrofitting HVAC systems in existing buildings

Thursday, October 15, 2015, at 11 a.m. PT/1 p.m. CT/2 p.m. ET
1 AIA CES approved LU available for attendees
#CSEHVACretrofits

Click here to register.

While the mechanical engineering team has much more control over how HVAC systems are designed and how they fit into the facility for new construction, retrofitting HVAC systems to accommodate existing buildings is considerably more challenging. Existing buildings were built to meet older codes and design requirements, which makes it difficult to meet current codes and standards that affect energy efficiency, indoor air quality, indoor environmental quality, and other factors. However, there is a huge opportunity to increase energy efficiency in older facilities. 

Engineers must determine which HVAC system components should be included in a retrofit, how new equipment and supporting infrastructure will fit existing spaces, and how to bring systems in existing buildings up to local code. Designers also must tackle performance issues such as air balancing, upgrading HVAC controls and building automation, indoor air quality, and aligning lifecycle cost analysis (LCCA) with owner/client expectations. With regard to building envelope, resolving sources of leakage and indoor contamination in the envelope is considerably more challenging and expensive. Retrofit of existing buildings is challenged both by identifying envelope issues and developing creative solutions to resolving those issues cost effectively.

Learning objectives:

Presenters:

Moderator: Jack Smith, Consulting-Specifying Engineer and CFE Media, LLC 

Join the discussion about this Webcast on Twitter at #CSEHVACretrofits

Sponsors: Armacell, Mitsubishi Electric Cooling & Heating

click me