HVAC: New chiller requirements

Thursday, September 11, 2014, at 11 a.m. PT /1 p.m. CT/2 p.m. ET
1 AIA CES accredited LU available for attendees

Click here to register.

New chiller requirements go into effect on Jan. 1, 2015. ASHRAE Standard 90.1-2010: Energy Standard for Buildings Except Low-Rise Residential Buildings, Addendum ch details minimum performance requirements of heating and air conditioning equipment, including chillers, boilers, and packaged equipment, which continue to increase from the previous standard.

Equipment efficiencies are increased for heat pumps, packaged terminal air conditioners, single package vertical heat pumps, air conditioners, and evaporative condensers. Additional provisions address commercial refrigeration equipment, improved controls on heat rejection and boiler equipment, requirements for expanded use of energy recovery, small motor efficiencies, and fan power control and credits. Control revision requirements have been added to the standard such as direct digital controls in many applications. Finally, the 2013 edition completes the work that was begun on equipment efficiencies for chillers in the 2010 edition.

While Addendum ch may simplify these requirements for consulting engineers, chiller manufacturers are faced with equipment redesigns to comply by the deadline. Also, designers must pay special attention to which path of compliance will be used when testing chillers with or without variable frequency drives (VFDs).  

Learning objectives:

Speakers:

Moderator: Jack Smith, Consulting-Specifying Engineer, Pure Power, and CFE Media, LLC

Sponsors: Danfoss, Siemens

Join the discussion about this Webcast on Twitter at #CSEHVACchiller.

click me