HVAC for Data Centers

Thursday, March 13, 2014, at 11 a.m. PT /1 p.m. CT/2 p.m. ET
1 AIA CES accredited LU available for attendees

Click here to register

When developing data center energy-use estimations, engineers must account for all sources of energy use in the facility. Most energy consumption is obvious: computers, cooling plant and related equipment, lighting, and other miscellaneous electrical loads. Designing efficient and effective data centers is a top priority for consulting engineers. Cooling is a large portion of data center energy use, second only to the IT load. Although there are several options to help maximize HVAC efficiency and minimize energy consumption, data centers come in many shapes, sizes, and configurations. By developing a deep understanding of their client’s data center HVAC requirements, consulting engineers can help maintain the necessary availability level of mission critical applications while reducing energy consumption.

The focus of this webcast is to present high level topics on data center energy use and efficiency. Items related to developing highly efficient cooling strategies based on data center type and location, to calculating inefficiencies in electrical systems and the resulting impact on the cooling system energy use will be explored. The topics are essential for any mechanical engineer designing data center cooling systems and providing energy analysis.

Learning objectives:

Speakers:

Moderator: Jack Smith, Consulting-Specifying Engineer, Pure Power, and CFE Media, LLC

Sponsor: Schneider Electric, MovinCool

Join the discussion about this Webcast on Twitter at #CSEdatacenterHVAC.