Critical power: Generators and generator system design

Thursday, February 13, 2014, at 11 a.m. PT /1 p.m. CT/2 p.m. ET
1 AIA CES accredited LU available for attendees

Click here to register.

When designing generator systems, consulting engineers must ensure that the generators and the building electrical systems that they support are appropriate for the specific application. Whether providing standby power for health care facilities or prime power for rural processing plants, engineers must make decisions regarding generator sizing, load types, whether generators should be paralleled, fuel storage, switching scenarios, and many other criteria. In addition to being up to speed on the applicable codes, consulting engineers must work with the authorities having jurisdiction (AHJ) to ensure approval for the generator system is attained.

Learning objectives:   

  • The audience will understand the applicable code requirements including NFPA 70: National Electrical Code and NFPA 110: Standard for Emergency and Standby Power Systems
  • Attendees will learn the criteria for selecting the appropriate generator or generators for the building type and/or application
  • Viewers will understand the criteria for designing the generator system, and know the differences between prime rated versus standby rated engines (U.S. EPA standards)
  • Viewers will learn the criteria for commissioning generators and the electrical systems they support.

Speakers:

  • James Ferris, PE, TLC Engineering for Architecture, Orlando, Fla.
  • Robert R. Jones Jr., PE, LEED AP, JBA Consulting Engineers, Las Vegas

Moderator: Jack Smith, Consulting-Specifying Engineer, Pure Power, and CFE Media, LLC

Sponsor: ASCO

Join the discussion about this Webcast on Twitter at #CSEgenerators.