Webcast

Fire Protection and Suppression Systems: Codes and Technology Update

Thursday, September 20, 2012, at 11 a.m. PT/1 p.m. CT/2 p.m. ET
0.10 AIA CEU or 1.0 PDH available for attendees; 1 HSW LU (1 Health, Safety, and Welfare Learning Unit)
available for attendees
Click here to register.


Building and fire regulations require the installation of active fire protection systems for various  types of facilities. The type of system to be used depends on the overall fire protection goals—and on the fire hazards posed by the business or operations conducted within the facility.   Automatic sprinkler systems protect occupants, contents, and building structures from a wide array of fire hazards. However, other type of systems, such as clean agents, also should be considered for certain applications in buildings with water-sensitive equipment and contents, or where rapid suppression of the fire must be achieved.  

From understanding the many applicable standards to selecting the appropriate type of active fire protection system to designing a reliable delivery system, engineers, designers, and facility operators are faced with many challenges and decisions when it comes to providing the right fire protection system for the right application.

Topics include:
•    Selecting the appropriate agent and delivery system for the application/building type
•    Understanding and applying NFPA 13: Standard for the Installation of Sprinkler Systems
•    Understanding and applying NFPA 2001: Standard on Clean Agent Fire Extinguishing Systems
•    Using performance based design considerations to design a fire suppression system.

Speakers:
•    Gayle Pennel, PE, Aon Fire Protection Engineering, Glenview, Ill.
•    Daniel Kobb, PE, ccrd, Richmond, Va.

Moderator:
Jack Smith, Consulting-Specifying Engineer and CFE Media

Sponsored by: Fike