Webcast

 

HVAC for Schools: Energy Efficiency and IAQ on a Budget

Thursday, Oct. 25, 2012, at 11 a.m. PT /1 p.m. CT/2 p.m. ET
1 American Institute of Architects (AIA) Continuing Education System (CES)
learning unit (LU), or 1 HSW (health, safety, and welfare) LU, or 1 SD (sustainable design) LU available for attendees

Click here to register

The utility bill is typically the second largest expense for a school district, exceeded only by payroll. The building or campus HVAC system presents engineers with a big opportunity for saving their clients money in all climates and conditions. Although the heating and cooling needs of elementary, middle, and high schools differ from each other and from those of colleges and universities, HVAC system designers must consider the following criteria:

  • Indoor air quality (IAQ)
  • Energy efficiency
  • HVAC equipment sound levels
  • System complexity
  • First cost and lifecycle cost
  • Operations and maintenance costs.


Topics include:

  • Standards: ASHRAE Standard 62.1: Ventilation for Acceptable Indoor Air Quality; ASHRAE Standard 90.1: Energy Standard for Buildings except Low Rise Residential
  • How ventilation affects indoor air quality
  • Using energy audits and energy monitoring to identify cost saving opportunities
  • Balancing energy efficiency and indoor air quality.


Speakers:

  • Peter Alspach, PE, LEED AP BD+C, associate principal, mechanical engineer, Arup, Seattle
  • Colleen Smith, PE, LEED AP, QCxP, CPMP, senior project manager, Smith Seckman Reid, Tampa, Fla.
  • Moderator: Jack Smith, Consulting-Specifying Engineer and CFE Media

Sponsored by: Lennox and Mitsubishi