Webcast

 

Critical Power: Emissions Regulations and Technologies

Thursday, August 16, 2012, at 11 a.m. PT/1 p.m. CT/2 p.m. ET
0.10 AIA CEU or 1.0 PDH available for attendees

Click here to register

Stationary diesel-powered generator sets are a popular choice for standby and emergency power systems, as well as for peak and load shedding, because of their reliability, low lifecycle cost, high efficiency, ready availability, ease of installation, operational flexibility, and high-quality electrical performance. However, increasingly stringent emissions regulations like National Emission Standards Hazardous Air Pollutants (NESHAP) regulations continue to push manufacturers to develop effective technologies to overcome these obstacles. For some gensets, Tier 4 final emission regulations are scheduled to be effective as early as 2013, leaving consulting and specifying engineers as well as owners/operators to face these challenges.

Topics include:

  • How the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency determines emissions levels
  • Understanding Tiers, specifically Tier 4 emission limits
  • Understanding and specifying genset that include technologies to help maintain and monitor emissions regulations
  • Controlling pollutants/emissions through diesel engine design and using aftertreatment technologies

Speakers:

  • James Ferris, PE, associate and electrical project engineer, TLC Engineering for Architecture, Orlando, Fla.
  • Ray Lukkarinen, PE, senior chemical engineer, Stanley Consultants, Muscatine, Iowa 

Moderator: Amara Rozgus, Editor in Chief/Content Manager, Consulting-Specifying Engineer, CFE Media LLC

Sponsored by Cummins Power Generation.