Fire Systems: Protecting Hospitals
Thursday, April, 19, 2012, at 2 p.m. ET/1 p.m. CT/11 a.m. PT
0.10 AIA CEUs or 1.0 PDH available for attendees

Click here to register

Hospital fire and life safety systems are at the top of the list for fire protection engineers. Top of mind are NFPA 72-2010 and NFPA 99-2012. In case of fire or other emergencies, notification systems alert the appropriate health care personnel to deal with the situation.

In the first half of this presentation, we will focus on how NFPA 99-2012, Health Care Facilities Code, has been re-written, how it functions, and a high-level overview of the changes since 2005. In the second half of the presentation, we will focus on notification systems as they apply to health care facilities in accordance with NFPA 72-2010, National Fire Alarm and Signaling Code.

Topics include:

  • NFPA 99-2012 revisions
  • Functions of the NFPA 99-2012 standard
  • Overview of changes in NFPA 99 since 2005
  • Differences between public and private operating mode
  • Audible and visible notification code requirements
  • Relocation and partial evacuation of buildings.


Speakers:

  • Michael A. Crowley, PE, FSFPE, SASHE, Senior VP, Rolf Jensen & Associates
  • Andrew B. Woodward, PE, Senior Fire Engineer, Arup


Moderator:

  • Jack Smith, Consulting-Specifying Engineer and CFE Media LLC

This event is free, and all attendees are eligible to receive 0.10 AIA CEUs or 1.0 PDH.

Sponsored by: Edwards, A UTC Fire & Security Company